Adam’s Intro — Post #1

Greetings fellow non-profit enthusiasts! If you are reading this, I’d like to thank you for following me from the start, and get ready to embark on a semester-long journey through the world of New Media in Non-Profits. I am still in the midst of choosing an organization to intern for, so please stay tuned for that in the next couple of weeks.

My name is Adam Oxman, and I am a junior at the University of Michigan, studying business administration in the Stephen M. Ross School of Business. Within business, I am mostly concentrating on marketing, and I also am pursuing a Spanish minor. Highland Park, Illinois, is where I call home, but after a three-week long winter break, it feels good to be back in Ann Arbor. I am a huge sports fanatic (Michigan football and basketball, Detroit Red Wings, Chicago Bears), love to travel (my next journey is to Barcelona and Florence), and I enjoy a warm cup of tea on a cold winter night (c’mon, who doesn’t?).

So, as you’re reading a bit about my background, you might be thinking why a business student like myself would be taking a class on non-profts…Shouldn’t I be focusing on landing a job on Wall Street or in a consulting firm? Well, I am a very curious guy who likes to stay “in the know”, and my dad actually runs a consulting firm that focuses solely on non-profit organizations — No Margin, No Mission. I love learning about all the organizations he works with, but I feel like the conversations with him are a bit one-sided (dominated by him, which should be the case). I want to be able to come out of this semester with a solid understanding of non-profit organizations as a whole, and through the use of new media (such as this blog, different communication projects for my soon-to-be internship, Facebook/Twitter updates), maybe I can even throw a couple of recommendations his way. I am really looking forward to learning about a new sector of business, and because of the do-good, feel-good aspect of working with non-profits, who knows, maybe my community service interests from days of old will be resurfaced.

Hit me with the follow on my blog, and you’ll get one back.

Leave a comment